ICC 18

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SOCIETY
Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)
Minutes of Technical Committee Meeting at ICC, Kansas City, USA, 2018

May 22, 2018

  1. Introductions – The TC meeting was started at 12:30 PM. The SPCE Chair Dr. Octavia Dobre introduced the agenda of the meeting and welcomed all SPCE members to the meeting. Attendees introduced themselves. The Charter of the TC and current officers were introduced as well.
  1. Minutes of GLOBECOM 2017 – The draft minutes of GLOBECOM 2017 SPCE TC meeting were shown and the Chair checked with the audience if there were any corrections. There were no requests for modification or other comments and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE web site.
  1. Technical Program Committee Reports
  • SPC Symposium – ICC 2018: Co-chairs for the symposium include Xiaohu Ge (Huazhong University of Science and  Technology, China), Takahiko Saba (Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan), and Andrea Giorgetti (University of Bologna, Italy). Takahiko Saba was recommended by SPCE. The number of submissions was 142, and the number of TPC members was 440.
  • CT Symposium – ICC 2018: Co-chairs for the symposium include Maged Elkashlan (Queen Mary University of London, UK), Aylin Yener (Pennsylvania State University, USA), and Yonghui Li (The University of Sydney, Australia). Yonghui Li was recommended by SPCE. The number of submissions was 113, and the number of TPC members was 132.
  • WC Symposium – ICC 2018: Co-chairs for the symposium include Walaa Hamouda (Concordia University, Canada), Lian Zhao (Ryerson University, Canada), Lingjia Liu (Virginia Technology University, USA), Huiling Zhu (University of Kent, UK), and Junfeng Xiao (Huawei Technologies, China). Lian Zhao was recommended by SPCE. The number of submissions was 422, and the number of TPC members was 486.
  • SPC Symposium – GLOBECOM 2018: Co-chairs for the symposium include Ali Grayeb (TAMU, Qatar), Caijun Zhong (Zhejiang University, China), and Arafat Al-Dweik (Kalifa University, UAE). Caijun Zhong was recommended by SPCE.
  • SPC Symposium – ICC 2019: Co-chairs for the symposium include Jingxian Wu (University of Arkansas, USA), Yongming Huang (Southeast University, China), and Yi Ma (University of Surrey, UK). Jingxian Wu was recommended by SPCE.
  • WC Symposium – ICC 2019: Co-chairs for the symposium include  Xu (Judy) Zhu (University of Liverpool, UK), Harpreet Dhillon (Virginia Tech, USA), Feifei Gao (Tsinghua University, China), Julian Cheng (University of British Columbia, Canada), and Andreas Knopp (Universität der Bundeswehr München). Feifei Gao was recommended by SPCE.
  • SPC Symposium – GLOBECOM 2019: Co-chairs for the symposium include Ana Garcia Armada (University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain), Haijun Zhang (University of Science and Technology, Beijing, China), and Abdelhamid Mellouk (Université Paris-Est Créteil). All the members were recommended by SPCE.
  1. Other Endorsed Conferences by SPCE
  • WiSEE 2019 (Ottawa, Canada, October 2019), SPCE members involved: Marco Chiani, Rui Dinis, Xu Zhu, Yik-Chung Wu
  • ICNC 2019 (Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, February 2019), SPCE members involved: Stefano Basagni, Ebrahim Bedeer, Hsiao-Chun Wu
  • ICSPCS 2018 (Cairns, Australia, December 2018), SPCE members involved: Octavia Dobre, Jinhong Yuan, Takahiko Saba
  • WCSP 2018 (Hangzhou, China October 2018), SPCE members involved: Lajos Hanzo, Jigxian Wu, Shaodan Ma
  • NanoCom 2018 (Reykjavik, Iceland, September 2018), SPCE members involved: Markku Juntti, Robert Schober, Marcello Caleffi
  • ICT 2018 (Saint-Malo, France, June 2018), SPCE members involved: Octavia A. Dobre, Ana Garcia Armada, Markku Juntti
  1. Special Interest Group (SIG) Activity Report – The following SIGs have been organized recently:
  • SIG on Signal Processing Techniques in 5G Communication Systems. Chairs include Chau Yuen, SUTD, Singapore; Woon Hau Chin, Toshiba Research Lab, UK; Yan Zhang, Simula Research Lab, Norway; Linglong Dai, Tsinghua University, China and Shiwen Mao, Auburn University, USA. Over 20 members have been recruited.
    • A number of special issues have been developed, including IEEE JSAC, special issue on mmWave, June and July of 2017; IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, Special Issue on Video over Future Networks: Emerging Technologies, Infrastructures, and Applications, Oct. 2017; IEEE Wireless Communications, special issue on NOMA, to appear; IEEE Access Journal, Special Issue on Cooperative and Intelligent Sensing, to appear; IEEE Access, special issue on The Internet of Energy: Architectures, Cyber Security, and Applications; IEEE Wireless Communications Magazine, special issue on Wireless Big Data: Technologies and Applications; IEEE Access, special issue on Deployment and Management of Small Heterogeneous Cells for 5G.
  • SIG on Signal Processing Techniques for Big Data in Wireless Networks. Chair: Jingxian Wu, University of Arkansas; Vice Chair: Huaiyu Dai, North Carolina State University. Proposed activity plan includes: Journal special issues: JSAC, IEEE Access, EURASIP WIN; Conference workshops and special sessions: Globecom, ICC, WCNC, GlobeSIP; Form LinkedIn group. Recent activity of the SIG include:
    • Technical scope of SIG includes: Low-dimensional and sparse signal representations in wireless systems; Signal processing based on graphic models; Advanced interference coordination techniques with cloud computing; Distributed optimization algorithms over wireless networks; Resource management (energy, storage, bandwidth, complexity, etc.); High-dimensional statistical learning for wireless signals; Scalable and decentralized optimizations in ad hoc networks; Randomized algorithms; Bad data detection/Intrusion detection in sensor networks; Security and privacy in big data; Fundamental limits: convergence, consistency, robustness, and performance guarantees
  1. SPCE TC Newsletter
  • Editor: Prof. Ana Garcia Armada.
  • Goal: to share important information for the members of the committee; to have some brief contact approximately every six months; to become a useful communication tool; it will be brief and at the same time open for everybody to contribute.
  • The 3rd issue of the newsletter has been published in May 2017, it is available at http://spce.committees.comsoc.org/newsletter/

 

    7. Other Business

  • Next SPCE meeting will be held during GLOBECOM 2018 in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

    8. Adjourn – Dr. Octavia Dobra thanked SPCE members for the support in the past years. The meeting was adjourned at 1:45 PM. There were 41 people in attendance.

     9. Attendance List

Name Affiliation Email
Jingxian Wu University of Arkansas wuj@uark.edu
Xianbin Wang Western University xianbin.wang@uwo.ca
Shahid Mumtaz IT, Aveiro smumtaz@av.it.pt
Hassaan Khaliq NUST hassaan.khaliq@seecs.edu.pk
Geoffrey Li Georgia Tech. liye@ece.gatech.edu
Octavia Dobre Memorial University odobre@mun.ca
Naveed Ul Hassan LUMS, Lahore naveed.hassan@lums.edu.pk
Takahiko Saba Chiba Institute of Tech. saba@cs.it-chiba.ac.jp
Tomoaki Ohtsuki Keio University ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp
Andrea Giorgetti University of Bologna a.giorgetti@ieee.org
S. Lambotharan Loughborough University s.lambotharan@lboro.ac.uk
Ana García Armada UC3M agarcia@tsc.uc3m.es
Chih-Peng Li National Sun Yat-sen Univ. cpli@faculty.nsysu.edu.tw
Telex Ngatched Memorial University tngatched@grenfell.mun.ca
Yuan Shen Tsinghua University shenyuan_ee@tsinghua.edu.cn
Rui Dinis FCT UNL rdinis@fct.unl.pt
Tomo Taniguchi Fujitsu t-taniguchi@jp.fujitsu.com
Zhengsheng Zhang   zzhang@ieee.org
Xiangwei Zhou Louisiana State University xwzhou@lsu.edu
Moe Win MIT moewin@mit.edu
Zhijin Qin Lancaster University qinzhijin@gmail.com
Yuanwei Liu Queen Mary Univ. of London yuanwei.liu@qmul.ac.uk
Le Liang Georgia Tech. lliang@gatech.edu
Harpreet Dhillon Virginia Tech. hdhillon@vt.edu
Cheng Li Memorial University licheng@mun.ca
Jun Zheng Southeast University junzheng@seu.edu.cn
Mai Vu Tufts University maivu@ece.tufts.edu
Kyeong Jin Kim MERL kkim@merl.com
Marco Di Renzo Paris-Saclay Univ. / CNRS marco.di.renzo@gmail.com
Nan Yang Australian National Univ. nan.yang@anu.edu.au
Long Le University of Quebec long.le@emt.inrs.ca
Ling Lin ICT/ CAS linling@ict.ac.cn
Zongshuai Zhang ICT/ CAS zhangzongshuai@ict.ac.cn
Pawel Dmochowski Victoria Univ. of Wellington pdmochowski@ieee.org
Chia-Han Lee National Chiao Tung Univ. chiahan@nctu.edu.tw
George Alexandropoulos Huawei Technologies France alexandg@ieee.org
Chenhao Qi Southeast University qch@seu.edu.cn
Wenyan Ma Southeast University mawy@iee.org
Jinhong Yuan University of NSW j.yuan@unsw.edu.au
Lisu Yu University of Arkansas lisuyu@uark.edu
Samrat Nath University of Arkansas snath@uark.edu