ICC 16

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SOCIETY

Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)

Minutes of Technical Committee Meeting at ICC 2016, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

May 26, 2016

 

1. Introductions – The TC meeting was started at 11:30 AM. The SPCE Chair Dr. Hai Lin introduced the agenda of the meeting and welcomed all SPCE members to the meeting. Attendees introduced themselves.

2. Minutes of Globecom 2015 – The draft minutes of Globecom 2015 SPCE TC meeting were shown and the Chair checked with audience if there were any corrections. There were no requests for modification or other comments and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE web site.

3. Technical Program Committee Reports

A. SPC Symposium – ICC’16: Co-Chairs of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Hsiao-Chun Wu (LSU, USA), Shaodan Ma (University of Macau) and Tomohiko Taniguchi (Fujitsu, Japan); the symposium received a total of 159 submissions; 61 papers were accepted (38.4% acceptance rate). The submitted papers were reviewed by a total of 157 TPC members.

B. WCS Symposium – ICC’16: Co-Chairs of WCS Symposium include Xiaohu Ge (HUST, China), Dimitrie Popescu (Old Dominion University, USA), Hossam Hassanein (Queen’s University, Canada) and Rui Zhang(National University of Singapore). The Representative of the SPCE to the WCS Symposium is Dimitrie Popescu. This symposium received a total of 490 submissions; 194 papers were accepted (38.8% acceptance rate). The submitted papers were reviewed by a total of 325 TPC members.

C. CT Symposium – ICC’16: Co-Chairs of WCS Symposium include Marco Chiani (University of Bologna, Italy), Marios Kountouris (Supelec, France), Xu (Judy) Zhu (University of Liverpool, UK). The Representative of the SPCE to the CT Symposium is Xu (Judy) Zhu. This symposium received a total of 134 submissions; 53 papers were accepted (39% acceptance rate). The submitted papers were reviewed by a total of 151 TPC members.

D. SPC Symposium – GLOBECOM 2016: Co-chairs for the symposium include Dania Marabissi (University of Florence, Italy), Trung Q. Duong (Queens University Belfast, UK), and Yuan Shen (Tsinghua University, China). The Representative of the SPCE is Trung Q. Duong. The total submissions received are 153, 174 TPC members secured with each paper allocated to at least 3 reviewers. Decision not made yet.

E. WCS Symposium – GLOBECOM 2016: Co-chairs for the symposium include Yiqing Zhou (Chinese Academy of Science, China), Machail Matthaiou (Queens University Belfast, UK), Shaodan Ma (University of Macau), and Nader Alagha (European Space Agency). The total submissions received are 455, 366 TPC members secured with each paper allocated to at least 3 reviewers. Decision not made yet.

F. CT Symposium – GLOBECOM 2016: Co-chairs for the symposium include Petar Popovski (Aalborg University, Denmark), Jinhong Yuan (University of South Wales, Australia), Philippa Martin (University of Canterbury, New Zealand). Jinhong Yuan was commended by SPCE. The total submissions received are 141, 113 TPC members secured with each paper allocated to at least 5 reviewers. Decision not made yet.

4. Other Endorsed Conferences by SPCE

ICSPCS 2015 (Cairns, Australia, December 2015), members involved Tadeusz A. Wysocki, Jinhong Yuan, Octavia Dobre

ICCE 2016 (Ha Long, Vietnam, July 2016), members involved Chau Yuen, Ha Nguyen, Trung Q. Duong

ASMS/SPSC 2016 (Palma de Mallorca, Spain, September 2016), members involved Tomaso de Cola, Hung Nguyen, Haijun Zhang

IEEE Sarnoff 2016 (Newark, New Jersey, September 2016), members involved Liang Xiao, Guosen Yue, Tam N. Vu

WCSP 2016 (Yangzhou, China, October 2016), members involved Yulong Zou, Lingyang Song, Shi Jin

ICSPCS 2016 (Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia, Dec 2016), members involved Tadeusz Wysocki, Takahiro Saba, Salman Durani

ICNC 2017 (Silicon Valley, USA, Jan 2017)

5. Special Interest Group (SIG) Activity Report – The TC Chair Dr. Hai Lin overviewed the recent initiatives of SPCE in engaging the members. The following SIGs have been organized recently:

A. SIG on Signal Processing Techniques in 5G Communication Systems. Chairs include Chau Yuen, SUTD, Singapore; Woon Hau Chin, Toshiba Research Lab, UK; Yan Zhang, Simula Research Lab, Norway; Linglong Dai, Tsinghua University, China and Shiwen Mao, Auburn University, USA. Over 20 members have been recruited. Recent activities of this SIG includes:

Workshop ”Novel Waveform and MAC Design for 5G” @ IEEE WCNC 2016

A number of special issues have been developed, including IEEE Access Journal, Special Issue on Cooperative and Intelligent Sensing; Elsevier Digital Communications and Networks Journal, Special Issue on Next Generation Wire-less Communication Technologies; EAI Endorsed Transactions on Wireless Spectrum, Special Issue on Cognitive, Cellular, and Mobile Networks; (Submission) A special issue on mmWave communications for 5G; (Submission) A special issue on non-orthogonal multiple access NOMA for 5G

Key roles in major conferences, around 15 conferences have been involved members of this SIG, including Area TPC Chair, IEEE INFOCOM 2017; Co-Chair, Next Generation Networking and Internet Symposium, IEEE ICC 2017; Co-Chair, MAC and Cross-Layer Design Track, IEEE WCNC 2017; TPC Co-Chair, the 12th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks (IEEE MSN 2016); Co-Chair, Next Generation Networking Symposium, IEEE ICCC 2016; Co-Chair, Selected Area Communications, IEEE ICCC 2016; Co-Chair, Big data track, WICON 2016; Area TPC Chair, IEEE INFOCOM 2016; Publicity Co-Chair, IEEE INFOCOM 2016; Organizer, Workshop on Multimedia Streaming in Information-/Content-Centeric Networks (MuSIC 2016), in conjunction with IEEE INFOCOM 2016; Co-Chair, Next Generation Networking and Internet Symposium, IEEE ICC 2016; TPC Co-Chair, The 23rd International Conference on Telecommunications (ICT 2016); Student Travel Grant Co-Chair, IEEE GLOBECOM 2015; Publication Chair, ICCS 2016

B. SIG on Signal Processing Techniques for Big Data in Wireless Networks. Chair: Jingxian Wu, University of Arkansas; Vice Chair: Huaiyu Dai, North Carolina State University. Proposed activity plan includes: Journal special issues: JSAC, IEEE Access, EURASIP WIN; Conference workshops and special sessions: Globecom, ICC, WCNC, GlobeSIP; Form LinkedIn group. Recent activity of the SIG include:

Workshop proposals, including IEEE GlobalSIP 2016, Dec. 7 – 9, Washington DC and IEEE GLOBECOM 2016, Dec. 4 – 9, Washington DC

Journal Special Issue proposals including IEEE Access Special Issue on Signal Processing for Big Data and IEEE JSAC Special Issue on Big Data in Wireless Networks

6. New Home Page and Mailing list – SPCE Chair Hai Lin announced the new SPCE home page and mailing list.

7. Other Business – Next SPCE meeting will be held during GLOBECOM 2016 in Washington DC, USA.

8. Invited talk. Professor Lajos Hanzo of University of Southampton gave an invited talk on A “Spooky Phenomenon at a distance” or a potent wireless tool Dr Einstein? Quantum-Solution in Communications

9. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 1:00PM. There were 81 people in attendance.

List of Attendees:

Name

Affiliation

Email

Hai Lin

Osaka Perfecture University

hai.lin@ieee.org

A. Nallanathan

King’s Collegue London

nallanathan@ieee.org

Xiangwei Zhou

Louisiana State University

xwzhou@lsu.edu

Xianbin Wang

Western University

xianbin.wang@uwo.ca

Octavia Dobre

Memorial University

odobre@mun.ca

Guodong Zhao

UESTC, China

gdngzhao@gmail.com

Tomoki Ohtsuki

Keio University

ohtsuki@ils.keio.ac.jp

Jingxian Wu

University of Arkansas

wuj@uark.edu

Tomo Taniguchi

Fujisu

t-taniguc@jp.fujitsu.com

Rui Dinis

FAT-UNL

rdinis@fct.unl.pt

Lajos Hanzo

Southampton University

lh@ecs.soton.ac.uk

Hsi-Pin Ma

National Tsing Hua
Univ.

hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw

Chih-Peng Li

National Sun Yat-Sen University

cpli@faculty.nsysu.edu.tw

Rath Vannithamby

Intel

rath.vannithamby@intel.com

Tony Quek

SUTD

tonyquek@sutd.edu.sg

Chia-Han Lee

Academia Sinica

chiahan@citi.sinica.edu.tw

Xiangyun Zhou

Australian National University

xiangyun.zhou@anu.edu.au

P. Y. Kam

National University of Singapore

py.kam@nus.edu.sg

Pascal Lorenz

University of Haute Alsace

lorenz@ieee.org

Yik-Chung Wu

University of Hong Kong

ycwu@eee.hku.hk

Wei Wang

Zhejing University

wangw@zju.edu.cn

Haijun Zhang

UBC

haijunzhang@ece.ubc.ca

Fang Fang

UBC

hello123ff@gmail.com

Wei Chen

Tsinghua University

wchen@tsinghua.edu.cn

Jinho Choi

GIST

jchoi11@gist.ac.kr

Wan Choi

KAIST

wchoi@kasit.edu

Jeongseok Ha

KAIST

jsha@kaist.edu

Taewow Hwang

Yonsei University

twhwang@yonsei.ac.kr

Chandra Murthy

IISc Bangalore

cmurthy1@gmail.com

Kanapathippillai Cumanan

University of York

kanapathippillai.cumanan@york.ack.uk

Rui Zhang

National University of Singapore

elezhang@nus.edu.sg

Wei Zhang

UNSW

w.zhang@unsw.edu.au

Yue Gao

GMUL

yue.gao@gmul.ac.uk

Naveed Ul Hassan

LUMS, Lanore, Pakistsan

naveed.hassan@lums.edu.pk

M. Bershgal Atique

LUMS, Lanore, Pakistsan

bershgal@gmail.com

Justin Coon

Oxford University

justin.coon@eng.ox.ac.uk

Ana G. Armada

Univ. Carlos III

agarcia@tsc.ui3m.es

Tommy Svensson

Chalmers University of Technology

tommy.svensson@chalmers.se

Italo Atzeni

Huawei, France

italo.atzeni@huawei.com

Georgios Alexandropoulos

Huawei

george.alexandropoulos@huawei.com

Chengshan Xiao

Missouri UST

xiaoc@mst.edu

Xianghui Cao

Southeast University

xh.cao@ieee.org

Bo Bai

Tsinghua University

eebobai@shanghaitech.edu.cn

Di Han

Tsinghua University

hd15@mails.tsinghua.edu.cn

Gang Wu

UESTC, China

wugang99@uestc.edu.cn

Folvio Babich

Univeristy Trieste

babich@units.it

Saif Khan Mohammad

IIT, Delhi

saifkm@ee.iitd.ac.in

Marco Di Renzo

Univ. Paris

marco.direnzo@css.supelec.fr

Heidi Sreerdam

Gent University

heidi.sreerdam@ugent.be

Kazunori Hayashi

Kyoto University

kazunori@i.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Kwang-Cheng Chen

National Taiwan University

ckc@ntu.edu.tw

Yonghui Li

University of Sydney

yonghui.li@sydey.edu.au

Chris Masara

University College London

chris.masara@ieee.org

Syed Zaidi

University of Leeds

s.a.zaidi@leeds.ac.uk

Hui Gao

BUPT

huigao@bupt.edu.cn

Jihwan Choi

DGIST

jhchoi@dgist.ack.kr

Hideki Ochiai

Yokohama National University

hideki@ynu.ac.jp

Jen-Ming Wu

National Tsing Hua
Univ.

jmwu@ee.nthu.edu.tw

Kung Wang

Nanjing Post and Telecom U

kwang@njupt.edu.cn

Chau Yuen

SUTD

yuenchau@sutd.edu.sg

Yong Zeng

NUS

elezeng@nus.edu.sg

Shuoweng Zhang

 NUS

shuowen.zhang@u.nus.edu.sg

Scott Fowler

Linkoping Univ

scott.fowler@liu.se

Mianxiong Dong

Muroran Institute of Technology

mxdong@mmm.muroran-it.ac.jp

Nordin Raml

MIMOS

nordin@ieee.org

Zhi Liu

WAWS Univ

liuzhi10@gmail.com

Jun Zheng

Southeast University

junzheng@seu.edu.cn

Cheng Li

Memorial University

licheng@mun.ca

Jiajia Liu

Xidian University

liujiajia@xidian.edu.cn

Shaodan Ma

University of Macau

shaodanma@umac.mo

Meixia Tao

Shanghai Jiaotong Univ.

mxtao@sjtu.edu.cn

Jinhong Yuan

UNSW

j.yuan@unsw.edu.au

Mei Leng

NTU

lengmei@ntu.edu.sg

Guido  Carlo Ferrante

SUTD & MIT

gcf@ieee.org

Howard Yang

SUTD

hao_yang@mymail.sutd.edu.sg

Sameh Sorour

U. Fupn

samehsorour@gmail.com

Mohamed Abdallha

Texas A&M Univ Qatar

mohamed.abdallah@qatar.tamu.edu

Ang Li

Univ. College London

Ang.li14@ucl.ac.uk

Adrian Garcia

Univ. College London

adrian.rodriguz.12@ucl.ac.uk

Dirk Slock

EURECOM

slock@eurecom.fr

Jungwoo Lee

Seoul National Univ

junglee@snu.ac.kr