ICC 15

Minutes of SPCE TC Meeting at ICC 2015, London, UK

11 June, 2015

1. Introductions – The TC meeting was started at 12:30 PM. The SPCE Chair Dr. Hai Lin welcomed all members to the meeting. Attendees introduced themselves.

2. Minutes of GLOBECOM 2014 – The draft minutes of GLOBECOM 2014 TC meeting were shown and Chair checked with audience if there were any necessary corrections. There were no requests from modification or other comments and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE web site.

3. Technical Program Committee Reports

  • SPC Symposium – ICC 2015: Representative of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Sumei Sun, I2R, Singapore; the symposium received a total of 229 submissions; 81 papers were accepted (35.37% acceptance rate).
  •  SPC Symposium – GLOBECOM 2015: Representative of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Himal Suraweera, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. A total of 169 papers were received. Review process was still undergoing and decision not made yet.
  • WCS Symposium – GLOBECOM 2015:Representative of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Octavia Dobre, Memorial University, Canada. A total of 150 papers were received. Review process was still undergoing with 4 assigned receivers for each paper. Decision not made yet.
  • CT Symposium – GLOBECOM 2015:Representative of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Jingxian Wu University of Arkansas, USA. A total of 473 papers were received. Review process was undergoing with 4 assigned receivers for each paper. Decision not made yet.
  • ICC 2016: Our representatives: Shaodan Ma and Dr. Tomohiko Taniguchi for SPC Symposium; Dimitrie Popescu for WC Symposium; Xu Zhu for CT Symposium.
  • GLOBECOM 2016: Our nominations: Maged Elkashlan, WC Symposium, Jinhong Yuan for CT Symposium, Trung Q. Duong for SPC Symposium, and Muhammad Zeeshan Shakir for CogRN Symposium.

4. Other Endorsed Conferences

  • APCC 2015 (Kyoto, Japan); Members involved: Tomoaki Ohtsuki, Takahiko Saba, Hai Lin
  • ICSPCS 2015 (Cairns, Australia); Members involved: Tadeusz A. Wysocki, Jinhong Yuan, Octavia Dobre
  • WCSP 2015 (Nanjing, China); Members involved: Yulong Zou, Lingyang Song, Meixia Tao, Wei Xu

5. Standards Liaisons Report – SDB board liaison: Rath Vannithamby, Intel Corp.

  • IEEE 5G Workshop was held on 21st Apr’15 with participation from Industry and Academia (20 members). Radio-Channel modelling, RAN-Front-hauling, Core Network-Cloud based API, Services-Radio analytics aspects discussed. Further discussions are also planned to discuss formation of research/study groups. Participation via ComSoc community website.
  • 3GPP 5G Workshop (non-IEEE standards activity). A workshop will take place so that companies can share their views on the next generation radio technology and the work required by radio access network (RAN). The workshop will take place on Sep 17-18 in Phoenix, US.

6. Special Interest Group (SIG) Activity Report – The TC Chair Dr. Hai Lin overviewed the recent initiatives of SPCE in engaging the members. The following SIGs have been approved:

  • SIG on Signal Processing Techniques in 5G Communication Systems. Chairs include Chau Yuen, SUTD, Singapore; Woon Hau Chin, Toshiba Research Lab, UK; Yan Zhang, Simula Research Lab, Norway; Linglong Dai, Tsinghua University, China and Shiwen Mao, Auburn University, USA. Over 20 members have been recruited.
  • SIG on Signal Processing Techniques for Big Data in Wireless Networks. Chair: Jingxian Wu, University of Arkansas; Vice Chair: Huaiyu Dai, North Carolina State University. Proposed activity plan includes: Journal special issues: JSAC, IEEE Access, EURASIP WIN; Conference workshops and special sessions: Globecom, ICC, WCNC, GlobeSIP; Form LinkedIn group.

7. Other Business – Next SPCE meeting will be held during GLOBECOM 2015 in San Diego, USA.

8. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 PM. There were 71 people in attendance.

 

Appendix: List of Meeting Attendees

 

Name Affiliation Email
Tomo Taniguchi Fujisu t-taniguc@jp.fujitsu.com
Gan Zheng University of Essex ganzheng@essex.ac.uk
A. Nallanathan KCL nallanathan@ieee.org
Sangarapillri Lambotharan Loughborough University s.lambotharan@lboro.ac.uk
Yiqing Zhou Chinese Academy of Sciences zhouyiqing@ict.ac.cn
Ling Liu Chinese Academy of Sciences liuling@ict.ac.cn
Xiangyun Zhou Australian National University xiangyun.zhou@anu.edu.au
Salman Durrani Australian National University salman.durrani@anu.edu.au
Nan Yang Australian National University nan.yang@anu.edu.au
Wei Wang Zhejiang University wangw@zju.edu.cn
Guanding Yu Zhejiang University yuguanding@zju.edu.cn
Taewon Hwang Yonsei University twhwang@yonsei.ac.kr
Adlen Ksentini University of Rennes1 aksentin@irisa.fr
Rui Dinis FAT-UNL rdinis@fct.unl.pt
Biao He Australian National University biao.he@fct.unl.pt
Y-W. Peter Hong National Tsing Hua Univ. ywhong@ee.nthu.edu.tw
His-Pin Ma National Tsing Hua Univ. hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Xijun Wang Xidian University xjwang22@gmail.com
Utschick Wolfgang TUM utschick@tum.de
Edward Jorswieck TU Dresden jorswieck@ieee.org
Octavia Dobre Memorial University odobre@mun.ca
Hai Lin Osaka Perfecture University hai.lin@ieee.org
Xianbin Wang Western University xianbin.wang@uwo.ca
Wei Liu University of Sheffield w.liu@shef.ac.uk
Takahiko Saba Chiba Institute of Technology saba@sc.it-chiba.ac.jp
Markku Juntti University of Oulu markku.juntti@ee.oulu.fi
Shaodan Ma University of Macau shaodanma@umac.mo
Tomoki Ohtsuki Keio University ohtsuki@ils.keio.ac.jp
P. Y. Kam National University of Singapore py.kam@nus.edu.sg
Scott Fowler Linkoping University scott.fowler@liu.se
Jingxian Wu University of Arkansas wuj@uark.edu
Yonghui Li University of Sydney yonghui.li@sydney.edu.au
Agge Los Bletasas Technical University of Crete aggelos@feles.com.tuc.gr
Wei Chen Tsinghua University wchen@tsinghua.edu.cn
Andrea Conti University of Ferrara a.conti@ieee.org
Yuan Shen Tsinghua University shenyuan_ee@tsinghua.edu.cn
Zhu Han University of Houston zhan2@uh.edu
Moon Ho Lee Chonbuk National University moonhl@jbnu.ac.kr
Jinhong Yuan University of New South Wales j.yuan@unsw.edu.au
Fulvio Babich University of Triesie babich@units.it
Xiaojun Yuan Shanghai Tech, China yuanxj@shanghaitech.edu.cn
Chia-Han Lee Academia Sinica Chiahan@citi.sinica.edu.tw
Linda Davis University of South Austrialia linda.davis@unisa.edu.au
Fanggang Wang Beijing Jiaotong University wangfg@bjtu.edu.cn
Jingwen Zhang Beijing Jiaotong University zhangjw@bjtu.edu.cn
Xiaoli Chu University of Sheffield x.chu@sheffield.ac.uk
Ming Ding NICTA, Australia ming.ding@nicta.com.au
Hongjian Sun Durham University hongjian.sun@durham.ac.uk
Linglong Dai Tsinghua University daill@tsinghua.edu.cn
Trung Q. Duong Qeen’s University Belfast trung.q.duong@qub.ac.uk
Qoor Tuan Vien Middlesex University q.vien@mdx.ac.uk
Tarik Taleb Aalto University talebtarik@gmail.com
Weixi Zhou Southeast Jiaotong University zhouweixister@gmail.com`
Hao Song Southeast Jiaotong University songhao992013@gmail.com
Yun Liao Peking University jun.liao@pku.edu.cn
Chih-Peng Li National Sun Yat-Sen University cpli@faculty.nsysu.edu.tw
Chin-Liang Wang National Tsing Hua Univ. clwang@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Xu Zhu University of Liverpool xuzhu@liv.ac.uk
Chengxiang Wang Heriot-Watt University cheng-xiang.wang@hw.ac.uk
Hunh-Yu Wei National Taiwan University hywei@btu.edu.tw
Tzu-Hsien Sang National Chiao Tung University tzuhsien54120@faculty.nctu.edu.tw
Huan Nguyen Middlesex University h.nguyen@mdx.ac.uk
Jinho Choi GIST jchoi0114@gist.ac.kr
Jing Yang University of Arkansas Jingyang@uark.edu
Dimitry Kliazovich University of Luxeenbourg kliazovich@ul.lu
Song Guo Unviersity of Aizu sguo@u-aizu.ac.jp
Marco Mretti University of Pisa marco.morreti@unipi.it
Chau Yuen Singpaore University of Technology and Design yuenchau@sutd.edu.sg
Lingyang Song Peking University lingyang.song@pku.edu.cn
Xiaojiang Du Temple University dux@temple.edu
Xiaodong Lin UOIT xiaodong.lin@uoit.ca
Cheng Li Memorial University licheng@mun.ca