ICC 10

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SOCIETY
Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)

Meeting at ICC 2010, Cape Town, South Africa
24 May, 2010

 

1. Introductions – The meeting began at 7:00 AM.  Attendees introduced themselves.  SPCE Chair Tomoaki Ohtsuki welcomed the members to the meeting.

2. Minutes of GLOBECOM 2009 – .The draft GLOBECOM 2009 meeting minutes were read. The minutes were then approved and to be posted on the SPCE Web site.

3. Technical Program Committee Reports

A. ICC 2010:

Said Boussakta presented the report. There were 184 submitted papers submitted and 84 papers were accepted. One paper has been awarded.

C. GLOBECOM 2010:

Dr. Hung Nguyen reported that there were 246 papers submitted. Accepted number of papers is 88. Acceptance rate is 36%.

D. ICC 2011:

Tomohiko Taniguchi reported that 90 TPC members have been invited. There are 3 symposium co-chairs.

E. GLOBECOM 2011:

Nallanathan will represent SPCE. He attended the Globecom’2011 meeting at ICC’2010.

F. ICC 2012:

Hung reported that he attended the meeting on 23rd May 2010 in ICC’2010.

G. GLOBECOM 2012: Tomohiko Taniguchi will get the information.

4. SPCE New Website:

This is maintained by Nallanathan. Nallanathan mentioned that this page is under construction.

http://cms.comsoc.org/eprise/main/SiteGen/TC_SPCE/Content/Home.html

5. SPCE Outstanding Service Award

Selection committee included the current officers and the past chair. SPCE award will be finalized by the end of September. Selection Committee agreed to send out the call for nominations for the SPCE Outstanding Service Award by e-mail using our SPCE mailing list.

6. Other Businesses

Next SPCE officers election will be held in Globecom’2010.

Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 AM.  There were 12 people in attendance.

Attendance:

Name Email Affiliation
Hung Nguyen hung.h.nguyen@aero.org The Aerospace Corporation, USA
A. Nallanathan nallanathan@ieee.org King’s College London, UK
Hongyang Chen hongyang@mcl.iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp The University of Tokyo, Japan
Said Boussakta S.Boussakta@ncl.ac.uk Newcastle University, UK
Tomoaki Ohtsuki ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp Keio University, Japan
Tomo Taniguchi t-taniguchi@jp.fujitsu.com Fujitsu Labs, Japan
Octavia Dobre odobre@mun.ca Memorial University, Canada
Donglai Xu d.xu@tees.ac.uk Teesside University
Shigeru Shimamoto shima@waseda.jl Waseda University
Takaya Yamazato yamazato@ieee.org Nagoya University
Naohisa Ohta naohisa@kmd.keio.ac.jp Keio University
Jaafar Elmirghani J.M.H. Elmirghani@leeds.ac.uk University of Leeds, U.K