GLOBECOM 14

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SOCIETY
Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)

Meeting at GLOBECOM 2014, Austin, TX, USA
10 December, 2014

1. Introductions – The meeting began at 12:30 PM. Attendees introduced themselves. SPCE Chair Nallanathan Arumugam welcomed the members to the meeting.

2. Minutes of ICC 2014 – The draft ICC 2014 meeting minutes were shown and Chair Arumugam asked if there were any necessary modifications. There were none and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE web site.

3. Technical Program Committee Reports

A. GLOBECOM 2014: Representatives of the SPCE to the SPC Sympoisum: Feifei Gao, Tsinghua University, China; Acceptance rate: 39.6%.

B. ICC 2015: Representative of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Fu-Chun Zheng, University of Readings, UK; 229 submissions, decisions will be made in January.

C. GLOBECOM 2015: Representative of the SPCE to the WC Sympoisum: Jingxian Wu, University if Arkansas; Representative to the CT Symposium: Octavia A. Dobre, Memorial University; Representative to the SPCE Symposium: Himal Suraweera, University of Peradeniya.

D. ICC 2016: Our nominations: Dimitrie Popescu for WC Symposium, Xu Zhu for CT Symposium, and Shaodan Ma and Dr. Tomohiko Taniguchi for SPC Symposium.

E. GLOBECOM 2016: Our nominations: Maged Elkashlan, WC Symposium, Jinhong Yuan for CT Symposium, Trung Q. Duong for SPC Symposium, and Muhammad Zeeshan Shakir​ for CogRN Symposium.

4. Endorsed Conferences

A. International Conference on Computing, Networking and Communications (ICNC’2015,  16-19 February 2015, Anaheim); SPCE Representatives: Ngatched, Telex, Memorial University.
B. International Conference on Telecommunications (ICT’2015, 27-29 April 2015, Brisbane, Australia); SPCE representatives: Barbara Massini, EIIT-CNR, Zhengdao Wang, Iowa State University, and Domenico Ciuonzo, Seconda Università di Napoli.
C. European Conference on Networks and Communications (EuCNC 2015, 29 June-2 July 2015, Paris, France) SPCE Representative: Kamel Tourki, Texas A&M Qatar

5. Technical Recognition Award The SPCE Technical Recognition Award was presented to Moe Win for his continuous and outstanding contributions to the technological advancement of Signal Processing for Communications.

6. Outstanding Service Award – The SPCE Outstanding Service Award was presented to Hsiao-Chun Wu for his continuous and outstanding contributions to the technical activities of the committee.

7. Elections: New elected officers: Hai Lin-Chair, Octavia Dobre-Vice Chair, and Xianbin Wang-Secretary.

8. Other Business – Next SPCE meeting will be held during ICC 2015 in London, UK.

Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 PM. There were 42 people in attendance.

Attendance:

Alagan Anpalagan Ryerson University alagan@ee.ryerson.ca
Arumugam Nallanathan King’s College London arumugam.nallanathan@kcl.ac.uk
Baoxian Zhang University of Chinese Academy of Sciences bxzhang@ucas.ac.cn
Bo Rong Communications Research Centre Canada bo.rong@crc.ca
Byonghyo Shim Seoul National University bshim@snu.ac.kr
Chandra R. Murthy Indian Institute of Science cmurthy@ece.iisc.ernet.in
Cheng Li Memorial University licheng@mun.ca
David J. Love Purdue University djlove@purdue.edu
Fanggang Wang Beijing Jiaotong University wangfg@bjtu.edu
Fulvio Babich University of Trieste babich@units.it
Hai Lin Osaka Prefecture University hai.lin@ieee.org
Hongting (Hannah) Zhang Louisiana State University zhanghongting@gmail.com
Jen-Ming Wu Nat’l Tsing Hua University jmwu@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Jinhong Yuan UNSW j.yuan@unsw.edu.au
Jinsong Wu Alcatel-Lucent wujs@ieee.org
Kejie Lu University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez kejie.lu@upr.edu
Kun Yan Guilin University of Electronic Technology kyan5702@gmail.com
Lingyang Song Peking University lingyang.song@pku.edu.cn
Mark Flanagan University College Dublin mark.flanagan@ieee.org
Mianxiong Dong Muroran Institute of Technology mx.dong@ieee.org
Michael Rice Brigham Young University mdr@byu.edu
Muhammad Zeeshan Shakir Texas A&M University at Qatar muhammad.shakir@qatar.tamu.edu
Octavia Dobre Memorial University odobre@mun.ca
Peng Hao University of Western Ontario pha05@uwo.ca
Raghu C. Mudumbai University of Iowa rmudumbai@engineering.uiowa.edu
Rath Vannithamby Intel Corporation rath.vannithamby@intel.com
Shuai Han Harbin Institute of Technology hanshuai@hit.edu.cn
Taewon Hwang Yonsei University (Korea) twhwang@yonsei.ac.kr
Takao Inoue National Instruments takao@ieee.org
Telex Ngatched Memorial University tngatched@grenfell.mun.ca
Tianyu Wang Peking University tianyu.alex.wang@gmail.com
Tomoaki Otsuki Keio University ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp
Tomohiko Taniguchi Fujitsu Laboratories Limited t-taniguchi@jp.fujitsu.com
Tony Quek Singapore University of Technology and Design tonyquek@sutd.edu.sg
Weixiao Meng Harbin Institute of Technology wxmeng@hit.edu.cn
Xiangwei Zhou Southern Illinois University xzhou@engr.siu.edu
Xiangyun (Sean) Zhou Australian National University xiangyun.zhou@anu.edu.au
Xianbin Wang University of Western Ontario xianbin.wang@uwo.ca
Yahong Rosa Zheng Missouri University of Science and Technology zhengyr@mst.edu
Ying-Chang Liang I2R Singapore ycliang@ieee.org
Yonghui Li University of Sydney yonghui.li@sydney.edu.au
Yun Liao Peking University yun.liao@pku.edu.cn
Y.-W. Peter Hong National Tsing Hua University ywhong@ee.nthu.edu.tw