GLOBECOM 11

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SOCIETY
Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)

Meeting at GLOBECOM 2011, Houston, Texas, USA
7 December, 2011

1. Introductions – The meeting began at 12:30 PM. Attendees introduced themselves. SPCE Chair Hung Nguyen welcomed the members to the meeting.

2. Minutes of ICC 2011 – The draft ICC 2011 meeting minutes were shown and Chair Nguyen asked if there were any necessary modifications. There were none and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE Web site.

3. SPCE Outstanding Award Ceremony – The SPCE Outstanding Service Award was presented to Past-Chair Prof. Otsuki Tomoaki, and he expressed his gratitude to the TC past and present officers to nominate and selected him for this important SPCE award.

4. Technical Program Committee Reports

A. GLOBECOM 2011: SPC Symposium Co-Chairs: Dr. Yunxin (Jeff) Li (NICTA, Australia), Dr. Hung Nguyen (Aerospace, USA) and Prof. Nallanathan Arumugam(King’s College London, UK).The symposium has 12 sessions with 6 papers per session.

B. ICNC 2012: TPC Co-Chair: Dr. Hung Nguyen: Over all acceptance rate was 30% (136/467 & comparably competitive with Globecom and ICC). SPC Symposium Co-Chairs: Profs. Hai Lin (Osaka Prefecture University, Japan) and Octavia Dobre (Memorial University, Newfoundland, Canada). Two sessions with 5 and 6 papers each.

C. ICC 2012: SPC Symposium Co-Chair: Profs. Nallanathan Arumugam (King’s College London, UK) and Said Boussakta (University of Newcastle upon Tyne).

D. GLOBECOM 2012: SPC Symposium Co-Chair Prof. Tomoaki Ohtsuki (Keio University, Japan) reported there will be a TPC meeting Thursday.

E. ICC 2013: SPC Symposium Co-Chair: Hai Lin and Octavia Dobre were nominated.

F. GLOBECOM 2013: Profs Octavia Dobre and Pooi-Yuen Kam were nominated as SPCE representatives for SPC symposium. Profs Hai Lin and Nallanathan Arumugam were nominated for WC and CT symposiums, respectively.

5. Other Businesses:

2011 SPCE Nominations for COMSOC: Harry Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings and Conferences, ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer.
To increase paper submission of SPC symposium, TC Chair Dr. Hung Nguyen proposed to include more research topics, and members responded positively to the proposal. Prof. Moe Win suggested Localization-related topics, and Dr. Nguyen suggested efficient spectral scanning techniques for Cognitive Radio applications.
Members also suggested the TC should consider Technical Recognition Award.
Next SPCE meeting will be held during ICC 2012 in Ottawa, Canada.

Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 PM.  There were 32 people in attendance.

Attendance:

Hung Nguyen The Aerospace Corporation, USA hunguyen@ieee.org
Arumugam Nallanathan Kings College London, UK nallanathan@ieee.org
Tomohiko Taniguchi Fujitsu Labs, Japan t-taniguchi@jp.fujitsu.com
Tomoaki Ohtsuki Keio University, Japan ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp
Pooi-Yuen Kam National University of Singapore elekampy@nus.edu.sg
Guoqing Zhou University of Arkansas, USA gzhou@uark.edu
Hai Lin Osaka Prefecture Univ., Japan hai.lin@ieee.org
Sangarapillai Lambotharan Loughborough Univ., UK s.lambotharan@lboro.ac.uk
Xianbin Wang University of Western Ontario, Canada wang@eng.uwo.ca
His-Pin Ma National Tsinghua Univ., Taiwan hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Jaafar Elmirghani University of Leeds, UK j.m.h.elmirghani@leeds.ac.uk
Yindi Jing University of Alberta, Canada yindi@ualberta.ca
Takahiko Saba Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan saba@cs.it-chiba.ac.jp
Xu Zhu University of Liverpool, UK xuzhu@liverpool.ac.uk
Yonggang Wen Nanyang Technological University, Singapore ygwen@ntu.edu.sg
Octavia Dobre Memorial University, Canada odobre@mun.ca
Alina A Florea Cassidian alina.florea@cassidian.com
Dimitrie Popescu Old Dominion University, USA dpopescu@odu.edu
Xuesong Liang Southeast University, China liangxs@seu.edu.cn
Claudio Da Silva Virginia Tech., USA cdasilva@vt.edu
Venkata Gautham Chavali Virginia Tech., USA chavali@vt.edu
Xinbing Wang Shanghai Jiaotong Univ., China xwang8@sjtu.edu.cn
Moe Win MIT moewin@mit.edu
Hsiao-Chun Wu Louisiana State Univ., USA wu@ece.lsu.edu
Yuan Shen MIT shenyuan@mit.edu
Watcharapan Suwansantisuk MIT wsk@mit.edu
Feifei Gao Tsinghua University, China feifeigao@ieee.org
Andrea Conti Univ. of Ferrara, Italy a.conti@ieee.org
Shaodan Ma The University of Hong Kong sdma@eee.hku.hk
Lingyang Song Peking University, China Lingyang.song@gmail.com
Markku Juntti University of Oulu, Finland Markku.junti@ee.oulu.fi
Jingxian Wu University of Arkansas wuj@uark.edu